Explore Languages & Culture With THE LANGUAGE BARRACKS

Immerse yourself in the world’s many cultures with our CULTURAL OFFERINGS


Educational products that will enable you to expand your comprehensive level of language and culture in several aspects

International Spectrum

Publishers Consortium

Straight Talk

The Roundtable



Language Ops & Immersion


Video Immersion

Picture it!

Interactive Classroom

Dynamic Instructional Courses

Introductory Primers

Cultural Comprehension

Epic Films


A monthly look at different Ethnic Groups


PHILIPPINES MINDANAO is one of the three major geographical divisions of the Philippines. It is situated in the south. In Mindanao, groups of people resided here belonging to different ethno-linguistic groups. However, two major groups here considered Mindanao as their ancestral domain or homeland. They are the LUMADS and the MOROS. The MOROS are also known as the Muslim Filipinos. The name MORO is a collective term for the thirteen (13) ethno-linguistic groups of Mindanao in southern Philippines. The term was coined by the Spanish conquerors in the 16th century during their campaign to subjugate the islanders in the early Philippines. During the conquest, they encountered groups of muslim islanders who are under the Sulu sultanate of that time. These groups were brave and fierce and never retreated, even their weapons were incomparable with that of the Spanish conquistadores. Thus, they were called Moros by the Spaniards because they were similar to the Moors of North Africa whom the Spanish had encountered during the crusades centuries earlier.

Today, the Moros is about 5% of the total Philippine population. The 13 groups are Badjaw (Sama-dilaut), Jama Mapun, Kalibugan, Iranun, Maguindanao, Maranao, Molbuganun, Palawano, Sama Bangingi’, Sama-diliya (Sama south), Sanggil Tausug, and Yakan.

Although they belong to one group, they have diverse cultural traditions and practices as well as language. Each has distinct characteristics and identity. Their new geographic and political division is BANGSAMORO.


We like to thank BCPCH-BARMM for permitting us to use their administrative divisions map


Our Team

Arthur Lagron-Israel
Askar Djumanov-Uzbekistan
Boniface Emeka Nwajana-Nigeria 2
Boniface Emeka Nwajana-Nigeria
Fuad Muxtarli-Azerbaijan
Fuad Muxtarli-Azerbaijan
Maimun Suhaimi-Indonesia
Maimun Suhaimi-Indonesia
Mohaina Saguire Mawarao-Philippines (BARMM)
Mohaina Saguire Mawarao-Philippines (BARMM)
Solongo Otgonbayar-Mongolia
Solongo Otgonbayar-Mongolia
Tasneem B. Malatus-Marohom - Philippines (BARMM)
Tasneem B. Malatus-Marohom - Philippines (BARMM)